Bring back National Anthem on TV

Marv's Neighbor

Everyone watched the recent games with all the "respect" & "salute" to our military men & woman.  That's fine, and well deserved, BUT, we should see it on TV, and have the opportunity to participate in the National Anthem, presented before all games.

All of our respect, camo shirts & hats and salutes are very hollow without a chance to participate in this brief pre-game tradition.

We go to a BILLS bar in Richmond, and one of our fellow fans is good enough to bring a recorded National Anthem, to play before the kick off, and everyone stands and participates, as they would at the game.  The absence of this on TV is offensive, and disrespectful.  As a USAF vet, I ask that the networks please restore the National Anthem to TV games..

• Like (+1) 4
  • Eyeroll 3
  • Disagree 1
  • Awesome! (+1) 1
  • Dislike 1

Myself and I would expect the vast majority of Americans agree with you. Unfortunately the current environment (believe it's called cancel culture?) dictates catering to the minority to avoid offending anyone. Not sure why both Canadian and American National Anthems are broadcast on TV for hockey but not the NFL.

On another note, thank you for your service.

Edited by Steve O
  • Like (+1) 1
  • Eyeroll 1
  • Dislike 1

Unfortunately a lot of people think the flag and the anthem to be offensive. A sad state of affairs. Personally I'd love it to come back, but would rather not have it turn into another charade depending on who's oppressed or or victimized based on the weekly media cycle. 

• Like (+1) 1
  • Dislike 1

1 hour ago, Warcodered said:

I mean if people aren't going to throw a massive fit(yeah like that'll happen) over players using their 1st amendment rights during it then maybe the NFL would do that, but I doubt they want to have to deal with that issue at all.

Hockey games show it, sometime two different countries anthem... and I haven't seen any issues. 

• Like (+1) 3