Jump to content
Virgil

A Few Thoughts About the Rams Game, in no particular order

Recommended Posts

"I saw where the rule states you can't horse tackle within the box, but how is that a rule?!  Horsecoller tackles became an issue due to safety after multiple injuries as a result of them.  Why is that any less dangerous against always-protected QB?  I can fully understand why Allen complained and didn't know that rule and I guess props to the ref for holding to it.  Regardless, that's a stupid rule."

 

Totally agree. Who ever made that carve-out rule? First I heard of that too. Dumb. 

  • Like (+1) 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This game resembled so much like the Houston playoff game, except for the result.  I think Allen (in spite of his poor decision to later, yet again) learned from that failure for most part and was a lot more determined to come up with the victory.   Glad he is our QB.  Go Bills.

  • Like (+1) 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
46 minutes ago, Virgil said:

With that being said, by the time the Rams took a 4 points lead, my stomach was twisted in knots in ways that I haven't felt since the kickoff return fumble against the Pats or the Music City Miracle. 

 What about the playoff game against the Texans? Lol.  My feelings during the latter part of that game were 50x worse than how I felt when the Rams took the lead on Sunday.

  • Thanks! (+1) 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Mike Pereira said that if your illegal contact continues until the ball is in the air, it becomes pass interference. Thats what happened. When Davis made his cut, the ball was in the air.  The contact continued until the cut.   

 

Davis made the play.  He forced the db into a position where he had to disengage.  But if he did that, the catch would have been no contest.  Davis is a winner. 

  • Like (+1) 23
  • Thanks! (+1) 5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Definitely a penalty at end of game.  Ty Nysekhe came in for Dawkins.  I'll take a win anytime.  I think this win will standout more as the season progresses.  Rams are a real good team.  

  • Like (+1) 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
19 minutes ago, RiotAct said:

 What about the playoff game against the Texans? Lol.  My feelings during the latter part of that game were 50x worse than how I felt when the Rams took the lead on Sunday.


I felt the same way as Virgil.  Something about giving up a 25 point lead at home mid 3rd quarter would be the beginning of the end for this team.   Hard to get over that.

 

The Houston game was bad but I felt like the Bills were making progress.   A Rams loss would have been a bad backslide.

 

 

 

 

Edited by BillsfaninSB
  • Like (+1) 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
24 minutes ago, Shaw66 said:

Mike Pereira said that if your illegal contact continues until the ball is in the air, it becomes pass interference. Thats what happened. When Davis made his cut, the ball was in the air.  The contact continued until the cut.   

 

Davis made the play.  He forced the db into a position where he had to disengage.  But if he did that, the catch would have been no contest.  Davis is a winner. 

This right here. I’m really confused at how he came on the broadcast and explained it and yet nobody refers to that statement and the media is running rampant with it being a 100% bogus call. Could it have gone uncalled? Sure. Was it technically an okay call? YES. 

  • Like (+1) 7
  • Awesome! (+1) 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Virgil said:

I've come to realize that BBFS is similar to addiction...


We've been smoking schwag for decades -- all of a sudden, KIEF! Rehab can wait a bit. ;) 

 

 

 

Edited by Golden Goat
  • Like (+1) 1
  • Haha (+1) 3
  • Awesome! (+1) 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, Stank_Nasty said:

This right here. I’m really confused at how he came on the broadcast and explained it and yet nobody refers to that statement and the media is running rampant with it being a 100% bogus call. Could it have gone uncalled? Sure. Was it technically an okay call? YES. 

 

And all the media quacking about the PI said NOTHING about the BS INT.  They owed us.

  • Like (+1) 1
  • Awesome! (+1) 2
  • Thanks! (+1) 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

good stuff

 

I don't think that OPI call is as clear as you think it was. But honestly I don't care because the game swinging Interception was ABSOLUTELY NOT an interception.

 

It's just karma.

  • Like (+1) 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
19 minutes ago, Stank_Nasty said:

This right here. I’m really confused at how he came on the broadcast and explained it and yet nobody refers to that statement and the media is running rampant with it being a 100% bogus call. Could it have gone uncalled? Sure. Was it technically an okay call? YES. 


If you think I could hear what the announcer was saying over my hyperventilating, you’re crazy.  
 

Maybe I was on a different broadcast, but the announcers were iffy on the call as it happened too.  
 

As Shaw said, if that’s the rule, okay.  I just feel like it gets ignored way more than it’s called and if it went the other way, people would be losing their minds here 

  • Like (+1) 1
  • Skeptical 2
  • Haha (+1) 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The DB had the receiver locked up past 5 yards, past the point Allen released the ball, all the way to the very top of Davis’ route. Well within the definition of DPI. Now, is it called all the time on plays similar to the one on Sunday? No. But officials’ inconsistencies don’t change the rulebook. Go watch it again.

  • Like (+1) 1
  • Thanks! (+1) 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, transplantbillsfan said:

good stuff

 

I don't think that OPI call is as clear as you think it was. But honestly I don't care because the game swinging Interception was ABSOLUTELY NOT an interception.

 

It's just karma.


This was talked about on the morning show a lot where people called that the momentum swinging play.  
 

I agree with you, but also feel like it’s hard for one play to swing momentum in a 29 point comeback.  So many things have to happen and people keep pointing out that one turnover.  
 

I’d challenge that Allen’s fumble and 15 yard penalty was bigger as they were almost close enough to put points on the board and it was a potential 10-14 point swing 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Virgil said:


If you think I could hear what the announcer was saying over my hyperventilating, you’re crazy.  
 

Maybe I was on a different broadcast, but the announcers were iffy on the call as it happened too.  
 

As Shaw said, if that’s the rule, okay.  I just feel like it gets ignored way more than it’s called and if it went the other way, people would be losing their minds here 

Pereira immediately came on and said “unlike the interception ruling I think they got this call right” he then went on to say he thinks a more accurate call would have been illegal contact. regardless it’s an automatic first down. 

  • Like (+1) 3
  • Thanks! (+1) 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, JoPoy88 said:

The DB had the receiver locked up past 5 yards, past the point Allen released the ball, all the way to the very top of Davis’ route. Well within the definition of DPI. Now, is it called all the time on plays similar to the one on Sunday? No. But officials’ inconsistencies don’t change the rulebook. Go watch it again.


But don’t they also look at who was initiating contact?  I may have been raged out by that point, but it looked like Davis was trying to run through the defender and was equally initiating the contact.  
 

I haven’t really watched a replay yet 

1 minute ago, Stank_Nasty said:

Pereira immediately came on and said “unlike the interception ruling I think they got this call right” he then went on to say he thinks a more accurate call would have been illegal contact. regardless it’s an automatic first down. 


And that was my fault as well.  But like I said, I wasn’t watching as anything more than a scared child by that point 

  • Like (+1) 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, Virgil said:


But don’t they also look at who was initiating contact?  I may have been raged out by that point, but it looked like Davis was trying to run through the defender and was equally initiating the contact.  
 

I haven’t really watched a replay yet 

 


i’ve watched it several times. It probably falls into the realm of opinion, but it looks to me Davis was trying to make a move off the line to establish inside position and the DB locks on to him so Davis can’t separate inside.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Rams should never complain about a call that went against them after that non-PI that they got in the NFC championship against New Orleans.  

  • Like (+1) 3
  • Awesome! (+1) 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Virgil said:

More so, I'm more concerned with the non-call against Allen that led to the 15 yards Unsportsmanlike.  I saw where the rule states you can't horse tackle within the box, but how is that a rule?!  Horsecoller tackles became an issue due to safety after multiple injuries as a result of them.  Why is that any less dangerous against always-protected QB?  I can fully understand why Allen complained and didn't know that rule and I guess props to the ref for holding to it.  Regardless, that's a stupid rule.

I mean it was technically a face mask

 

  • Like (+1) 4
  • Awesome! (+1) 1
  • Thanks! (+1) 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...