Smokers -- The cooking variety

ricojes

I am looking to do some serious smoking this summer (I guess that's the best way to word it in order to keep the jokes limited to the chemical variety) and need some advice on what to look for in a smoker. I am a novice, I just grill, so I will probably go with propane. Any smoker brand and/or model recommendations? Any probe recommendations as well?

Someone recommended this site:

http://www.smoking-meat.com/

Any advice?

Edited by ricojes

I really like this site for reviews..

http://amazingribs.com/bbq_equipment_reviews_ratings/reviews_ratings

Just a great overall site for BBQ and grilling in general.

I have a Large Egg, and really enjoy it and use it a ton. If I had to do over, think would maybe buy the Kamoda Joe due to its oval shape and ability to have more of an offset fire.

Also, if you go the komoda style, buy the biggest one you can afford. I regret not getting the XL in the egg.

I know folks who just love the Weber Smokey Mountain ...and way more affordable than the Egg. But can't really use it as a grill..sooo

Really depends how you plan to use, your budget, etc. No right fit for everyone.

I have a Large Egg, and really enjoy it and use it a ton. If I had to do over, think would maybe buy the Kamoda Joe due to its oval shape and ability to have more of an offset fire.

Also, if you go the komoda style, buy the biggest one you can afford. I regret not getting the XL in the egg.

I know folks who just love the Weber Smokey Mountain ...and way more affordable than the Egg. But can't really use it as a grill..sooo

Really depends how you plan to use, your budget, etc. No right fit for everyone.

Great site, thanks!

Same here...love the BGE but the price reflects its popularity so you can probably find cheaper alternatives that are comparable. I second your suggestion to go XL; the large is fine most of the time but sometimes I could really use the extra space.