Jump to content

Singletary un-touchdown, rule


SoMAn
 Share

Recommended Posts

Not sure if this has been brought up since yesterdays win.

 

One of the stranger circumstances that can occur in a game is a player carrying the ball (Singletary)but not wanting to go into the end zone, even though it’s right there. At the same time the opposition wants him to score.  The Ravens know the best odds of getting the ball back for their offense is to let him score so there will be time left to march upfield. 
So here’s my question: 

As Singletary is trying to stop at the one yard line and go down to give himself up, hypothetically, could the Ravens’ defenders have forced a TD by holding him upright and carrying him into the end zone against his will?
Anyone know what the rule book says about that? 

Edited by SoMAn
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Just now, SoMAn said:

Not sure if this has been brought up since yesterdays win.

 

One of the stranger circumstances that can occur in a game is a player carrying the ball (Singletary)but not wanting to go into the end zone, even though it’s right there. At the same time the opposition wants him to score.  The Ravens know the best odds of getting the ball back for their offense is to let him score so there will be time left to match upfield. 
So here’s my question: 

As Singletary is trying to stop at the one yard line and go down to give himself up, hypothetically, could the Ravens’ defenders have forced a TD by holding him upright and carrying him into the end zone against his will?
Anyone know what the rule book says about that? 

Absolutely. It's happened before. 

  • Like (+1) 3
Link to comment
Share on other sites

A player can "give himself up" on the field; he doesn't have to be tackled.

 

I can't imagine the league would allow defenders to carry a player into the end zone.

 

  • Like (+1) 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Raven's fans still think that he was going to go in for the touchdown.

 

It was then big that Allen got the 1st down without scoring also which ensured that there'd be no time left on the clock.

 

 The Bills did everything right the last 2 mins

Edited by Billsfan1972
  • Like (+1) 2
  • Agree 8
Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 minutes ago, eball said:

A player can "give himself up" on the field; he doesn't have to be tackled.

 

I can't imagine the league would allow defenders to carry a player into the end zone.

 

Well if he gave himself up on the ground the minute he was touched he would be ruled down.  But if he was still UP, there is nothing saying that he couldnt be pulled in, that is why he started his turtling away from the endzone

  • Like (+1) 4
  • Agree 3
Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, Hsker4life said:

Ravens fans are still mad at the defender who “made the tackle”, but I think it’s pretty obvious Motor was going down on his own. 
 

 

McD even told Singletary NOT to score before the play, then Josh came off said I want to sneak for the first but NOT Score.  They knew exactly what to do in that series.

  • Agree 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

8 minutes ago, Billsfan1972 said:

Ravens fans still think that he was going to go in for the touchdown.

 

It was then big that Allen got the 1st down without scoring also which insured sure that there'd be no time left on the clock.

 

 The Bills did everything right the last 2 mins

This was an underrated great play in the sequence - for Josh to know exactly where to go to get the first and not score, and then to actually execute it with such a small margin for error and bodies everywhere - just a great play

Edited by stevewin
  • Like (+1) 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

35 minutes ago, SoMAn said:

Not sure if this has been brought up since yesterdays win.

 

One of the stranger circumstances that can occur in a game is a player carrying the ball (Singletary)but not wanting to go into the end zone, even though it’s right there. At the same time the opposition wants him to score.  The Ravens know the best odds of getting the ball back for their offense is to let him score so there will be time left to march upfield. 
So here’s my question: 

As Singletary is trying to stop at the one yard line and go down to give himself up, hypothetically, could the Ravens’ defenders have forced a TD by holding him upright and carrying him into the end zone against his will?
Anyone know what the rule book says about that? 

have you ever seen a guy get tackled from behind and get a few more yards?  Same thing.  The officials don't interview the defender and ask them if they wanted the guy to get more yards or not and if they did, it would not be relevant....forward progress is forward progress.

Edited by Matt_In_NH
Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, Matt_In_NH said:

have you ever seen a guy get tackled from behind and get a few more yards?  Same thing.  The officials don't interview the defender and ask them if they wanted the guy to get more yards or not and if they did, it would not be relevant....forward progress is forward progress.

I believe the question was answered with the video that Einstein posted. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

36 minutes ago, eball said:

A player can "give himself up" on the field; he doesn't have to be tackled.

 

I can't imagine the league would allow defenders to carry a player into the end zone.

 

It’s absolutely legal

 

Singletary has to fall on the ground to give himself up and then the play will be over

 

It would be illegal to carry a downed player in the end zone… But just as offense can push the pile forward

 

Technically the defense can to

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This topic is OLD. A NEW topic should be started unless there is a very specific reason to revive this one.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...