Why are YOU a BILLS fan?

I have to ask myself occassionally why I am such a die hard. I saw my first game in the 70's, watched in horror most of the 80's, proud as hell through the early 90's but the past ten years have really made me wonder. I haven't lived in WNY since '89 when I graduated from Fredonia but still go to at least one game per year and follow them religously. What have I got in return? A broken tv (wide right), chronic heartburn from April-December, disappointment, heartache...I could go on and on. There have been alot of great times as well, just not this millenium. I guess it boils down to loyalty. They have been my first and only "favorite team" and no matter what I'll always love them (unless they move then I'm done). I get harrassed often when I'm golfing for having a BILLS golfbag. I hear "they have sucked for so long" and "4 straight Superbowl losses" and "you must be a die hard".

Besides for loyalty I was raised in Jamestown. So unlike my friends who were Steeler, Miami, Dallas, Browns fans becasue they were good at the time. I stayed with my BILLS.

WHY ARE YOU A BILLS FAN?

• Replies 100
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Because I can't afford to change gears! I guess! I went to UB and hooked since 93. Got a job in NJ after graduation and kept Directtv in business ever since. I should've picked a school in ......... what's the point! I love my BILLS! :w00t:

Because I am not gay. We have a good thing going on here in Western New York. We are a classy organization and community. We have a storied franchise. Football is a great game. It is something good to be a part of.

It's not exactly a choice. If you grew up in Buffalo and were exposed to a live home game at a young impressionable age, you'd know exactly what I'm talking about. It's not just a sports team. It's more than a love affair - it's a marriage. 'They're part of the extended family. Til death do us part.