Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted

I thought the refs were a bit generous with us yesterday on some of the other PI calls, maybe to compensate for the terrible replay assist usage in the 1st qtr.   I missed the GD thread on gameday to hear what everyone's thoughts were on that deep ball to Shakir that was called a catch and a DPI even though the defender ended up with it.  I always thought that the rule was that if the defender was watching the receiver, not the ball and the receiver was trying to work back towards the ball, the DPI always gets called.   On that play however Jones did turn his head around at the end to make a play for the ball.   It kinda looked like Shakir partially caught it in his arms but he never actually had a hand on the ball that I saw.   Seems like that was one of those plays that was gonna stand as called with not enough evidence to overturn it either way.  

 

 

Another thing I noticed yesterday on that 4th down stop at the end of the game it looked like Taron Johnson was holding the sh*t out of Diggs on that play.  Think we got away with one there.  

  • Agree 1
  • Haha (+1) 1
Posted (edited)

I heard the announcer say that a tie goes to the receiver, not the DB. The ball was ripped out after the play was blown dead when they both hit the ground. As far as the PI itself? IMO, dude didn't have his head turned around fast enough before making contact with Shakir. HUGE props to Khalil for the insane concentration

Edited by buffalo2218
  • Like (+1) 6
  • Agree 5
  • Awesome! (+1) 1
  • Thank you (+1) 2
Posted

The DPI was obvious. By the way, the call is not just if you are not playing/ looking at  the ball, you still can't hit the receiver unless sort of incidental. You can't Push him away or interfere with his ability to go after the ball and that happened as the ball was in the air I thought it was pretty clear. Who came down with possession is another matter. I guess the tie goes to the receiver. We've been the victim of that play before too. 

  • Like (+1) 1
  • Agree 5
Posted
3 minutes ago, Lost said:

I thought the refs were a bit generous with us yesterday on some of the other PI calls, maybe to compensate for the terrible replay assist usage in the 1st qtr.   I missed the GD thread on gameday to hear what everyone's thoughts were on that deep ball to Shakir that was called a catch and a DPI even though the defender ended up with it.  I always thought that the rule was that if the defender was watching the receiver, not the ball and the receiver was trying to work back towards the ball, the DPI always gets called.   On that play however Jones did turn his head around at the end to make a play for the ball.   It kinda looked like Shakir partially caught it in his arms but he never actually had a hand on the ball that I saw.   Seems like that was one of those plays that was gonna stand as called with not enough evidence to overturn it either way.  

 

 

Another thing I noticed yesterday on that 4th down stop at the end of the game it looked like Taron Johnson was holding the sh*t out of Diggs on that play.  Think we got away with one there.  

The "hold" on Coleman was also bogus. Coleman dropped the ball (again) all on his own. On the other hand, that pass the Pats receiver caught that hit the ground in the first quarter was not a catch. 

  • Disagree 1
Posted

Jones did not turn for the ball and was face guarding until the last second .. they landed on the ground with simultaneous possession.. the PI on Coleman was an obvious hold.. on two occasions replay assist benefited the Pats- on being the huge pass play to start that somehow was not reviewed but J Cook first down was taken away. The Bills bounced back from the hold forcing a 3rd and 15. How about the Pats? 

  • Like (+1) 1
  • Agree 3
  • Thank you (+1) 1
Posted
6 minutes ago, Lost said:

I thought the refs were a bit generous with us yesterday on some of the other PI calls, maybe to compensate for the terrible replay assist usage in the 1st qtr.   I missed the GD thread on gameday to hear what everyone's thoughts were on that deep ball to Shakir that was called a catch and a DPI even though the defender ended up with it.  I always thought that the rule was that if the defender was watching the receiver, not the ball and the receiver was trying to work back towards the ball, the DPI always gets called.   On that play however Jones did turn his head around at the end to make a play for the ball.   It kinda looked like Shakir partially caught it in his arms but he never actually had a hand on the ball that I saw.   Seems like that was one of those plays that was gonna stand as called with not enough evidence to overturn it either way.  

 

 

Another thing I noticed yesterday on that 4th down stop at the end of the game it looked like Taron Johnson was holding the sh*t out of Diggs on that play.  Think we got away with one there.  

This doesn't matter if the ball was tipped

  • Like (+1) 1
Posted

By the way, he is is clearly not playing the ball in the initial stages of the play while the ball is in the air pushing shakir as Shakira is trying to work his way back to the ball because it's an under throw. . 

 

Eventually he turns his head around and gets in on the play.

 

It's not even borderline it's a clear DPI call

  • Agree 1
Posted
2 minutes ago, finn said:

The "hold" on Coleman was also bogus. Coleman dropped the ball (again) all on his own. On the other hand, that pass the Pats receiver caught that hit the ground in the first quarter was not a catch. 

A hold isn’t bogus if you grab the shirt and it’s on camera.. both announcers said that is a good call.. 

  • Like (+1) 3
  • Thank you (+1) 1
Posted
2 minutes ago, finn said:

The "hold" on Coleman was also bogus. Coleman dropped the ball (again) all on his own. On the other hand, that pass the Pats receiver caught that hit the ground in the first quarter was not a catch. 

Grabbed jersey is always a hold especially if it's in front of the ref.

  • Like (+1) 2
  • Thank you (+1) 1
Posted
2 minutes ago, buffalo2218 said:

The ball was ripped out after the play was blown dead when they both hit the ground

 

This part I disagree with.   Shakir had the ball in his arms for a second but it almost looks as if it just slipped out into the defender's hands.   Never saw him attempt to rip it out.   

Posted

The call was 100% right. Take away that the defender did come up with it and could have been ruled a INT - there was obvious PI before that.

 

Beyond that I didn't see any controversial calls that made me feel strong. I remain unbiased when it comes to them. 

  • Like (+1) 1
Posted

It was interference, but this kind of PI needs to be different or something and not a spot-foul.  The underthrown deep ball where the receiver needs to stop and the defender runs into him.  It is kind of a cheap way to pick up 30 yards.

  • Like (+1) 1
Posted
3 minutes ago, QLBillsFan said:

Jones did not turn for the ball and was face guarding until the last second

 

Neither of those things are penalties in the NFL.

The contact he made pushing Shakir before the ball arrived was what was illegal.

  • Agree 2
Posted
1 minute ago, Lost said:

 

This part I disagree with.   Shakir had the ball in his arms for a second but it almost looks as if it just slipped out into the defender's hands.   Never saw him attempt to rip it out.   

It was definitely DPI and definitely not a catch imo

Posted
9 minutes ago, Lost said:

I thought the refs were a bit generous with us yesterday on some of the other PI calls, maybe to compensate for the terrible replay assist usage in the 1st qtr.   I missed the GD thread on gameday to hear what everyone's thoughts were on that deep ball to Shakir that was called a catch and a DPI even though the defender ended up with it.  I always thought that the rule was that if the defender was watching the receiver, not the ball and the receiver was trying to work back towards the ball, the DPI always gets called.   On that play however Jones did turn his head around at the end to make a play for the ball.   It kinda looked like Shakir partially caught it in his arms but he never actually had a hand on the ball that I saw.   Seems like that was one of those plays that was gonna stand as called with not enough evidence to overturn it either way.  

 

 

Another thing I noticed yesterday on that 4th down stop at the end of the game it looked like Taron Johnson was holding the sh*t out of Diggs on that play.  Think we got away with one there.  

 

I think an argument can be made either way on the catch. There was one angle where it looked to me that Shakir had the ball in both hands trapped between bodies. They were on the ground at this point and the ball was ripped after. Thats already down by contact.

 

As for the PI, we have seen that call a million times. It was the right call because thats how they call it almost all the time.

  • Like (+1) 1
Posted
3 minutes ago, Lost said:

 

This part I disagree with.   Shakir had the ball in his arms for a second but it almost looks as if it just slipped out into the defender's hands.   Never saw him attempt to rip it out.   

He pulled it away the second they both hit the ground. I myself thought it may have been picked. That play was blown dead upon both players hitting the ground, at least that was apparently what the ruling was

Posted (edited)
1 minute ago, Simon said:

 

Neither of those things are penalties in the NFL.

If you make any contact while doing those things they directly lead to the PI almost every time.

Edited by atlbillsfan1975

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...