The Demise of the Running Quarterback?

I would say they are not looked upon as favorable as 2 years ago. With the exception of Russell Wilson, they're all failing to adjust to the NFL. I think it's because Wilson plays smart, has an excellent RB (the irony...), and a great defense. Plus a coach who's not boneheaded.

Colin Kaepernick, RGIII, and Cam Newton are among the correct answers to the following trivia question:

Name three QBs with resepect to whom certain people on this board became apoplectic that the Bills did not draft or otherwise go out and get.

Other correct answers include: Jimmy Clausen, Nick Foles, Ryan Nassib, John Skelton, . . . .

As I sit here, I can only think of a handful of QBs that I would have loved the Bills to have drafted in the last couple of years:

Andrew Luck (there was no way the Bills would have been able to get him in the draft or by trade)

Russell Wilson (every team in the NFL passed over him at least twice and some three times).

Being a successful QB is perhaps the most difficult thing to do in team sports. The league has been littered with guys that were drafted highly who never amounted to anything (poster child - Leaf).

Pittsburgh plucking Big Ben away from us set us back. I wonder where we would have been and be if we had been able to pick Big Ben, or drafted Aaron Rodgers, or got lucky in the 6th round with a guy like Tom Brady.

Edited by Peter

I don't think that most NFL HC and OC know how to utilize a mobile QB.

It seems that most every young, mobile QB that is drafted is pushed to become a pocket passer and therefore loses most of their effectiveness.

The creative coaches find ways to utilize the mobility. The other issue is that QBs who run with the ball take more hits and obviously tend to get injured more often, which has a negative impact on their ability to stay on the field and they ability to execute the offense properly.

I hate how Cam Newton keeps getting grouped into this conversation.