Do you use at work what you learned in school?

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I went to college for Physical Education and Health. Graduated 7 years ago. The field is so saturated with teachers losing their jobs as well as being a pretty popular major that I've struggled finding permanent placement. I've had a few long-term placements ranging from 3 months, to a full year of subbing but nothing permanent or even with the ability to advance to full-time. I could probably move down south and get a job in a day, but I have a house, family, and friends here so it's not really an option for me. I've been coaching in the school district for 6 years which is GREAT part time pay and something I love to do. I also substitute part-time, as well as have a flexible office manager job at a small tool shop.

I guess you could say I'm not using my Phys. Ed. degree very much, except for substituting, but the coaching aspect has been a huge part of my life.

I have the option of taking over this tool shop full time, but I've been so focused on getting a teacher job that I've kind off put any training or learning on the back burner for this career which is now looking more and more like a possibility. I've thought about going back to school for finance, or business to better understand how to improve what we do but also don't want to totally give up on teaching. I've been at this crossroads for a couple years and still am on the fence. Those tool shop is somewhat of a dying industry, and we have been kind of hanging on by a thread, but ever since Trump got elected we've been increasing sales more than I can ever remember.

English Major in college. I read and write a lot on a daily basis. So yes, I suppose I use my education in my chosen career path.

The only drawback is I find very little use for Chaucer's Canterbury Tales in my line of work.

Are you currently under cover? Operation Rettata?