Kentucky Derby 2011

Mark Vader

We are less than a month away from "The Run for the Roses". I always watch the Triple Crown Races, but I am not an expert on horse racing.

So I wanted to ask all of you who actually pay attention to these horses, who do you like coming into this race?

Is there a horse who can end the Triple Crown drought this year?

Any horses that are overrated or underrated?

http://www.kentuckyderby.com/

Edited by Mark Vader

We are less than a month away from "The Run for the Roses". I always watch the Triple Crown Races, but I am not an expert on horse racing.

So I wanted to ask all of you who actually pay attention to these horses, who do you like coming into this race?

Uncle Mo losing in the Wood just like Secretariot?

Two horses look good to me. Each one is trained by well known trainers. Dialed In is trained by Nick Zito and The Factor is trained by Bob Baffert. Then there is the unusal horse....Pants on Fire.

• 4 weeks later...

Kentucky Derby 137

Introduction: Before the post position draw, I was as confident in Archarcharch as any horse since Barbaro in 2006. However, when he drew the #1 post position, I had to rethink my position on him. I still have him #1 in my picks, but I will be including my top 6 in Oaks Derby Doubles with Zazu in the Oaks.

1) #1 Archarcharch (10/1): If he can stay out of early trouble, he will be able to tuck in behind the 1st tier of speed horses and save a lot of ground. On the other hand, he could get squeezed early and end up out of it, like Lookin’ at Lucky’s nightmare trip in 2010. Because Lucky’s trip was last year, many people will back off AAA, but after looking at the last 20 full or nearly full Derby fields, the odds of getting taken out by being in the #1 post position are about 20%. That means there’s an 80% chance that the #1 post will not be a detriment. With an 80% chance of him running his race, I like my chances, just not as much as I did before he drew post 1.