A look at some SJ stats.

Dibs

There has been a lot of discussion about Stevie Johnson this season. Many feel that his negative aspects(non-clutch, attitude, character etc) outweigh his positive aspects(separation ability, consistency, veteran etc) and that the Bills should rid themselves of him(by trade or cutting). Others feel the opposite and view him as an asset to the team.

As SJ will be earning an average of $8.77m/year over the next 3 seasons(12th highest amongst WRs based upon 2013 figures), I came to wonder whether his influence on the field had a big enough positive effect on the offense to warrant his high dollar figure.

Though I know the sample size is limited, I proceeded to compare the offensive production of the team(particularly passing) of the games where SJ started(12 games) to those of the games where he didn't play(4 games).

In the 12 SJ games:

QB stats: 229-408-2472-11-14

Completion %: 56.1

Passing YPA: 6.1

Passing Yards/game: 206.0

QBR: 68.8

Total yards: 322.7

3rd down %: 31.8

Score: 19.9 pts/game

Record 4-8

In the 4 non-SJ games:

QB stats: 70-114-901-5-1

Completion %: 61.4

Passing YPA: 7.9

Passing Yards/game: 225.3

QBR: 97.1

Total yards: 354.5

3rd down %: 39.7

Score: 25.0 pts/game

Record 2-2

As the stats show, the Bills offense produced far better results without SJ in the game.

Looking for other factors I realized that Tuel only played with SJ in the game.....and since Tuel's stats were far below EJ & Thad's I decided to remove his stats.

In the SJ games(minus Tuel stats):

QB stats: 203-349-2163-10-11

Completion %: 58.2

Passing YPA: 6.2

QBR: 72.8

Though this improved the SJ games, again I found myself looking at numbers that were far better without SJ in the game.

As there was 3 of the 4 non-SJ games played by Thad, I thought I'd compare just Thad's 5 games(2 with SJ, 3 without).

(There was no point doing this with EJ as he had only 1 game without SJ......which was his best game of the season).

Thad with SJ: