UF duo designing a better helmet to curb head injuries

"The inspiration came from watching the illegal street-racing flick "2 Fast 2 Furious," Peters said. In one scene, a car crashes into a barrier of water-filled canisters. The water explodes out of the canisters, dissipating the energy from the impact."

coincidentally, the fast and the furious: tokyo drift inspired steve jobs to create the iphone.

Edited by Dirtbag

If the ever perfect the helmet, i predict we will begin seeing more neck and spine injuries...

That was going to be my question to float out - does protecting the head end up making guys more likely to put it where it doesn't belong causing other issues?

That was going to be my question to float out - does protecting the head end up making guys more likely to put it where it doesn't belong causing other issues?

As mentioned in the article it is the torque created from glancing blows that can create serious neck injuries.

I'm no engineer or doctor but I would assume the only way to prevent this would be to have a helmet that is directly attached to the shoulder pads.

While I agree that some players may become even more reckless because of the added head protection, the added shock absorbtion would still reduce neck injury IMO.

In combination with league rule changes focused on reducing head injuries the better helmet could help preserve the game of football we have all come to know and love.

In earlier discussions here on TBD I've mentioned possible ways to help protect the neck by using 3 flexible shock absorbers that are connected on both sides and the back of the helmet to the shoulder pads in 3 places. Doing this without restricting head movement is the hard part.

Note: The outer hard shell of typical helmets used as protective gear needs to be modified to have the same shock absorbtion as the inner helmet to get the best results IMO. (Put the hard shell in between new shock absorbtion technology perhaps)

Edited by Donald Duck