Why the Walrus Took Jake

Interesting article in the paper today about why Mike Homgren signed Jake Delhomme. Here's a quote straight from the Walrus' mouth, "My own belief is this team needs an aging veteran," Holmgren said. "They need a guy that is going to grab everybody by the throat and say, 'Follow me through that door.' I don't look at him as an aging veteran, I look at him as the leader I wanted."

Bills are in a very similar position as the Clowns.

Read more: http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?...L#ixzz0iPRL7z0F

This is what I've been thinking for a while. We should get a veteran QB who has actually won something in the NFL. That will bring the team together as the team will rally around and support a proven winner. If we go with Brohm or Troy Smith or Charles Whitehurst, or Tyler Pigpen, or some other newbie QB, what has he ever won? What kind of confidence will that inspire? Does he even know how to win?

With Jake, his fellow players know he knows how to get to the SB because he's been there.

Don't know, it's what Mike "the QB guru" Holmgren thinks.

No comments from anyone on taking a QB for leadership ability as opposed to youth and "upside" for a team that doesn't know how to win? Sounds like a good plan to me and Mike "the QB guru" Holmgren. Anyone else?

Jake and the Fat Man?

Interesting article in the paper today about why Mike Homgren signed Jake Delhomme. Here's a quote straight from the Walrus' mouth, "My own belief is this team needs an aging veteran," Holmgren said. "They need a guy that is going to grab everybody by the throat and say, 'Follow me through that door.' I don't look at him as an aging veteran, I look at him as the leader I wanted."