ChasBB Posted yesterday at 03:55 PM Author Posted yesterday at 03:55 PM 2 minutes ago, Low Positive said: Let’s put this topic to bed with the only authoritative source on the matter. Here it is straight from the NFL rulebook Article 7. Plays Governed By The Line To Gain The dead-ball spot is reviewable to determine whether it was short of, at, or beyond the line to gain. Notes: 1) For purposes of a replay review, forward progress is determined when a player with control of the ball is controlled by an opponent and driven backwards. 2) A challenge is successful only if the ruling of whether a new series was awarded is changed, regardless of whether the ball was moved closer to the line to gain. 3) Following review, the ball will be placed at the correct dead-ball spot, but the challenge will be successful only if the line to gain ruling is changed. Thank you for that. Clearly, I didn't do homework first on this. I think I'm actually more surprised the situation is covered so well in the rule book than anything else. 1 Quote
Low Positive Posted yesterday at 03:59 PM Posted yesterday at 03:59 PM Just now, ChasBB said: Thank you for that. Clearly, I didn't do homework first on this. I think I'm actually more surprised the situation is covered so well in the rule book than anything else. There is a lot in there, but it’s a dense read so nobody except psychopaths like Bill Belichick and Andy Reid have actually read it. It would be like reading the OED or Encyclopaedia Brittanica cover to cover. Quote
billsfan89 Posted yesterday at 04:04 PM Posted yesterday at 04:04 PM This is another dumb rule, like if the ball was spotted wrong but it still doesn't get you a first down you had the wrong call and it was overturned why do you still lose a challenge? Quote
Big Turk Posted yesterday at 04:06 PM Posted yesterday at 04:06 PM 1 hour ago, Simon said: There's probably also a proviso re: whether a guy stepped OB that changes the spot, but I don't know how that works in relation to the line to gain, if at all. I'm thinking the challenge would be that the player stepped out of bounds which would change the spot as a result of that but you wouldn't directly be challenging the spot. 1 1 Quote
GunnerBill Posted yesterday at 04:19 PM Posted yesterday at 04:19 PM 2 hours ago, Kirby Jackson said: I didn’t see that last night (fell asleep at 1/2) but think I’ve seen it before. I’m with you that it is 100% crazy. If the officials were wrong, and you were right, regardless of if it resulted in a 1st down or TD or whatever, you shouldn’t relinquish a TO. Frustrating Yep, has happened to the Bills before. McDermott's first year or second year I think. It was McDermott but it was Shady carrying the ball so 2017 or 2018.... he was stopped right at the line, it was moved forward an inch but still short of the line. 1 Quote
Simon Posted yesterday at 04:24 PM Posted yesterday at 04:24 PM 25 minutes ago, Low Positive said: There is a lot in there, but it’s a dense read so nobody except psychopaths like Bill Belichick and Andy Reid (and librarians) have actually read it. Fixed that for you. Quote
Low Positive Posted yesterday at 04:35 PM Posted yesterday at 04:35 PM 10 minutes ago, Simon said: Fixed that for you. Librarians read nothing cover to cover. We just know where to look stuff up. Quote
Bleeding Bills Blue Posted 23 hours ago Posted 23 hours ago 1 hour ago, billsfan89 said: This is another dumb rule, like if the ball was spotted wrong but it still doesn't get you a first down you had the wrong call and it was overturned why do you still lose a challenge? Because you challenged that it was a first down, which it wasn't - so you lost the challenge. 1 Quote
JP51 Posted 22 hours ago Posted 22 hours ago 4 hours ago, Low Positive said: I would agree with you. But when a bad thing happens to the Bengals and especially if it makes Zac Taylor look inept, I am in full support it. I love all stupid rules if they make Joe Burrow sad. I aint gonna disagree with that.... just sayin... 2 hours ago, Low Positive said: Let’s put this topic to bed with the only authoritative source on the matter. Here it is straight from the NFL rulebook Article 7. Plays Governed By The Line To Gain The dead-ball spot is reviewable to determine whether it was short of, at, or beyond the line to gain. Notes: 1) For purposes of a replay review, forward progress is determined when a player with control of the ball is controlled by an opponent and driven backwards. 2) A challenge is successful only if the ruling of whether a new series was awarded is changed, regardless of whether the ball was moved closer to the line to gain. 3) Following review, the ball will be placed at the correct dead-ball spot, but the challenge will be successful only if the line to gain ruling is changed. https://operations.nfl.com/the-rules/nfl-rulebook/#article-7-plays-governed-by-the-line-to-gain Ok so I am not disputing, but am wondering because I cant find it... QB throws pass, 15 yards... receiver catches it... for a first down... and lands on the 35 the official places it at the 37 ... coach challenges this because of the missed spot (like hey we want it closer in case we need to kick a FG) the coach challenges and they move the ball to the 35 because it was mis spotted... is this something that cannot be challenged because it didnt involve a new set of downs... or can the coach challenge the spot specifically without needing the line to gain because that wasnt in dispute... Quote
shrader Posted 22 hours ago Posted 22 hours ago 2 hours ago, ChasBB said: Thank you for that. Clearly, I didn't do homework first on this. I think I'm actually more surprised the situation is covered so well in the rule book than anything else. And it is written this way so that teams don’t challenge every single spot. 1 Quote
billsfan89 Posted 20 hours ago Posted 20 hours ago 2 hours ago, Bleeding Bills Blue said: Because you challenged that it was a first down, which it wasn't - so you lost the challenge. Aren't you challenging the spot? Quote
Bleeding Bills Blue Posted 20 hours ago Posted 20 hours ago (edited) 11 minutes ago, billsfan89 said: Aren't you challenging the spot? You're challenging the ruling on the field that the player was short of the line to gain. If they are still short of the line to gain, you lose a timeout - if they gained the first down it is a successful challenge. Edited 20 hours ago by Bleeding Bills Blue 1 Quote
Matt_In_NH Posted 18 hours ago Posted 18 hours ago It’s nuance. You challenge progress to the line of gain not the exact spot. So if you don’t change yardage to the line of gain you lose the challenge. The spot could move a few inches on many plays. Quote
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.