Not A Huge Vote Of Confidence For Pennington...

Bill from NYC

First, a quick take on the press conference......

Overall, I liked it. I have never, not ever heard a Bills Executive speak so much about the OL. That could have been me up there. :worthy: He also mentioned "big plays" and lack of a "steady push." This does not fit our team, our fans, nor the climate in which we play, and Marv seems to be aware of this.

As for our free agents, I still think that he will franchise Fletcher. Ralph openly praises the man. I guess we shall see, but it makes plenty of sense from where I sit.

Wrt the OL, he emphasized (as have many on this board) that the TE is not utilized enough because they are forced to stay in and block. I am not an expert, but this is the area I look at the most when watching any game and I've gotta say that it isn"t Peters getting the bulk of the help. In fact, the best thing that Peters does imo is use his long arms and tremendous strength to push rushers to the OUTSIDE. I have seen many DEs thinking that they have a play only to be shoved wide while JP completes a pass.

Pennington is a different story. I know that he is young, etc., and I haven't complained much about TP because of this, but it seems to be bothering Marv. Levi Brown? He also seems to know that we need Guards.

I don't know how this (if at all) will get fixed. Anybody who has read but one of my posts knows that I want Steinbach to play LG for the Bills. I wanted them to draft him then, and still think that they should have.

If they cannot sign Steinbach, perhaps we can have a draft similar to 06, in which the continue to grab blockers instead of DBs. Maybe they can do it without trading up, and even trade DOWN and address other positions as well.

In all, I fell better about this situation than I did before this conference, and sit hoping that Marv will come through in terms of addressing the need that HE vocalized more than once.