Identity theft, and dealing with the IRS anyone?

Buftex

So, I get home from work today, check the mail. A letter from the IRS addressed to me, and a woman who I have no knowledge of. Apparently, this woman and I are being audited by the IRS. My name, her name, my address, my social security number! The way things have been going lately, this seems fitting...

Anyone ever deal with this? After spending 1hr & 20 minutes on hold with the IRS, I am not confident that this is something that is going to be easily fixable. In addition to filling out an identity theft form with the IRS, I will need to do the same with the Social Security administration, the Federal Trade Commission....oh yeah, it is also recommended that I file a police report!

I haven't lost any money, no credit cards have been tampered with....I am tapped, so there is nothing for them to steal from me. The woman I talked to at the IRS recommended that I find proof of residence going back as far as possible... get a letter from my employer verifying my ID, address, etc etc....

The one thing that will help, I think, is that I have not yet filed my taxes this year...I owe about $200 I think, so I am no rush to pay...but now I am just stressed out...

Not even sure what I am asking here...but anyone ever have to deal with something like this? Any tips on making this easier, before I blow the single gasket I have left?

Edited by Buftex

Nothing, yet. Just a notification that they are "conducting a thorough review" of "my" return, as there appears to be issues with "Income reported on your return", "Income tax withholding amounts you reported on your return", "claims for tax credits you made on your return" and "business income you reported on your income". The are not requiring me to do anything at this time, but I should be prepared with any information supporting the data made on my claim.

Surely, there must be something that you can do.