April 19th in Oklahoma City - 28 years ago

It seems that people talk less and less about, what was at the time, the worst terror attack in American history. 

I was a sophomore at Oklahoma State and people there felt the ground shake from the blast that took place 65 miles away. I went to OKC the next day to visit my girlfriend, who was going to school at OU at the time. Seeing the Murrah Building cut in half, hard to explain what that was like. 

One of my fraternity brothers lost this dad that day, secret service agent Mickey Maroney.

okcbombing.thumb.jpg.922c44a4b0b18b65b5d546f96e6b9791.jpg

• Like (+1) 2
  • Thank you (+1) 2

Worked in a lab at Stanford at that time  and we had a med student fro OK City in the lab whose sister worked across the street from the Murrah building. He told us she didn't  get seriously cut or injured because her high backed office chair had its back both window. he did say she and the chair was pushed onto the desk or conference table though.

• Thank you (+1) 2

8 minutes ago, Wacka said:

Worked in a lab at Stanford at that time  and we had a med student fro OK City in the lab whose sister worked across the street from the Murrah building. He told us she didn't  get seriously cut or injured because her high backed office chair had its back both window. he did say she and the chair was pushed onto the desk or conference table though.

Talk about luck. 

So many buildings around the Murrah building got seriously damaged or destroyed. The memorial is a humbling place and a must-visit if anyone is in Oklahoma City. The fact so many LITTLE LITTLE children were killed... it's just hard to explain what it's like to see their little chairs on the lawn. 

https://www.news9.com/oklahoma-city-bombing-victims

• Sad 1
  • Thank you (+1) 1