I've seen this several times in the past few years, but asking about a situation like Dewayne Carter's fumble recovery for a touchdown that was overturned yesterday.
First of all, I thought the tuck rule had been eliminated and it seemed on the replays that the quarterback had decided against throwing the ball and was trying to pull the ball back to his body. Is this not what the tuck rule was and should have resulted in a fumble?
Second part of the question, if the tuck rule does not apply and the officials can go back and call it an incomplete pass, I've never seen them in this situation assess an intentional grounding penalty. It seems to me in these situations where a fumble is turned into an incomplete pass that there is almost never a receiver in the area. Are they not allowed to assess a penalty retroactively? Or is there some other reason why this isn't a penalty?