Jim Kelly and Pat Kelly?

johnk

• I graduated from R.L. Thomas HS in Webster NY.
  • We had a remarkable athlete named Pat Kelly who graduated in the late 70's.
  • Pat Kelly then attended SU and then joined Denver Broncos.
  • Does anybody know anymore about the Kelly's story. Like why was Pat in Webster NY and Jim in East Brady PA.
  • I was just thinking how neat it would have been to have Jim in High School with me and my brother.
  • BTW: Pat died from Cancer in his early 30's.

Thanks for any info.... GO BILLS...

This investigative journey started when I was checking which USFL teams Jim played for. I was using WIKI and it said this....

University of Miami

Kelly wanted to attend Penn State under Joe Paterno, but he was not offered a quarterback scholarship, instead they offered him a scholarship at linebacker. His brother, Pat, already an NFL player, advised Jim to look for a school offering a quarterback scholarship instead. He went to the University of Miami. At Miami he played an important role in helping build the University of Miami into one of the nation's premier collegiate football programs. He finished his career at Miami with 406 completions in 646 attempts for 5,233 yards and 32 TD's. This performance earned Kelly a place in the University of Miami Hall of Fame when he was inducted in 1992.[5]

Then I found this from NFL.COM, the only Pat Kelly listed.

Pat Kelly

Height: 6-6 Weight: 252 Deceased

Born: 10/29/1965 Rochester , NY

College: Syracuse

Experience: 4 Seasons

layer Name NFL Experience Years of Service Career Stats Hall of Fame

Kelly, Pat 4 Years 1988 - 1991 Rec: 4 Yds: 17 Avg: 4.2 TD: 0

Did his brother play in the NFL. Strange that the NFL.COM website would miss his playng data.

• Does anybody know anymore about the Kelly's story. Like why was Pat in Webster NY and Jim in East Brady PA.
  • I was just thinking how neat it would have been to have Jim in High School with me and my brother.

That Pat Kelly is not Jim's brother.