Bandwagon Fans

BuckeyeBill

I'm a High School teacher and I talked to a lot of my students about the Superbowl today. (They are well aware of the fact that I am a football nut). When I asked who a person was rooting for, if they said Patriots... I asked two simple questions. "Why?"

Then I asked a question, "Name two players on the Patriots."

Do you know that nobody could answer both questions? The answer to "why" was "They're cool" or "They win" or "Their quarterback is hott (yuck)" or "I like them."

Never a good answer like, I was born there, or my parents follow them, or I've liked them for a while, or I like any particular player." No, all stupid answers.

The second question, "naming players"... most students could barely remember Brady, and that's it.

My point, I hate these New Englander bandwagon fans. So fickle. I remember bandwagon fans during the Bills Superbowl runs, but they were gone the day after the Superbowl. The true fans came out when the team loses. New England doesn't lose, so true fans can't show their colors.

I even have to wonder how many of the people on this board, (who claim to be Pasty fans) are truly fans.

I had a friend in college, who truly loved the Patriots. He was a true fan, liked them when they sucked, liked them when they won. I haven't been in contact with him, but a part of me (please know it is very small) is happy for him. He is a true fan!

How many of these posters... really are???

My question: If YOU (reading this now) are a New England fan. WHY? Give me a legit reason. If you are NOT a New England fan, tell me why you support the Bills or whatever team you like.

"Personally, I love the Bills because I grew up in Buffalo, went to see Jerry Butler speak when very young at some church. I wanted to be a football player just like him. I always idolized Jim Kelly, and cried when he could never win the big one. I moved from Buffalo, but my love for the Bills remained. I say those are legit reasons.