WM's Pre-training Camp Roster Review

OK, I’m going to start this off my bluntly admitting that I am no expert. I am not a pundit, not a former player, not a coach. I’m just a fan who the offseason is killing by inches, and found himself cycling through my thoughts until words came out. This is here to help discuss, think, analyze, bull **** and otherwise pass the time until training camp starts and the real work begins. I did one of these before the draft, under similar circumstances, but things have changed a great deal since then.

So, here is my completely biased, untrained view of the Bills strength of roster by position group going into camp. Feel free to tell me how wrong I am.

Part 1: Offense

QB: The most important position in the game is the one that is most in the dark for this team. No matter how you slice it, no one in the organization is going to be able to completely predict whether or not EJ Manuel progresses this year, and if so, to what extent. Anyone who says otherwise is a liar.

When the Bills picked EJ Manuel, the consensus I heard was “He has great physical tools, but man, is he raw. I hope that he doesn’t have to go in right away, and can learn under Kolb for a few weeks while he gets ready.” We know how things went from there: Kolb had a mysterious run in with a rubber mat, and got his bell permanently rung in preseason. As a result, the raw rookie which everyone said wasn’t ready to play consistently was thrown right into the deep end and, shockingly, he didn’t play consistently. We saw flashes of great play in the winning touchdown drive in Week 2 and ripping the vaunted Jets defense in their second meeting. He also put up a pair of absolute stinkers on the road against the Steelers and Bucs and was often injured.