(LAMP)Any electric bass players here

The Poojer

my wife is bringing home a bass for my 13 year old son, he has never even held one before.  What is a good instructional book(He wants a book) to get him running?  Thanks.

407749[/snapback]

I've dabbled (and I do mean dabbled) in guitar and now bass for about the last 20 years. I'm no expert, but I would let him get used to the instrument a bit. Playing with his fingers (as a majority of bass players do) is going to be tough at first so a heavy pick might be appropriate. There probably is a beginners books out there, but I would also consider at least a couple of lessons. That way the proper fundamentals and technique could be taught to make learning easier.

What kind of bass is he getting? Is he getting an amp too?

my wife thinks it is a fender bass, it is from a coworker. lessons will definitely be on tap, but he is hell bent on having a book as well. I am hoping to get him lessons with Tony Levin :) ...wishful thinking

I've dabbled (and I do mean dabbled) in guitar and now bass for about the last 20 years. I'm no expert, but I would let him get used to the instrument a bit. Playing with his fingers (as a majority of bass players do) is going to be tough at first so a heavy pick might be appropriate. There probably is a beginners books out there, but I would also consider at least a couple of lessons. That way the proper fundamentals and technique could be taught to make learning easier.

What kind of bass is he getting?

407792[/snapback]

my wife thinks it is a fender bass, it is from a coworker.  lessons will definitely be on tap, but he is hell bent on having a book as well.  I am hoping to get him lessons with Tony Levin :) ...wishful thinking

407800[/snapback]