Attention Sports Coaches

Tonight is my first night of coaching my son's instructional tee ball team. 10 boys and me. I'm prepared in my head...but seeing this is my first time I'm looking for ideas of what works or has worked for you if you've coached little guys before.

Any input is greatly appricated!

mental abuse builds good character and steroids make them better players....push those issues and you will be a huge success!

Tonight is my first night of coaching my son's instructional tee ball team. 10 boys and me. I'm prepared in my head...but seeing this is my first time I'm looking for ideas of what works or has worked for you if you've coached little guys before.

334505[/snapback]

mental abuse builds good character and steroids make them better players....push those issues and you will be a huge success!

334508[/snapback]

Problem is I can't decide whether to introduce the clear or the cream first.

334505[/snapback]

For kids that age, make sure it is more about fun and less emphasis on winning. You don't need the kids taking it too hard when they lose since they are so young. Also, make sure you are doing more drilling and less gameplay simulation at that age as they need to learn the fundementals.

I just basically copied from my notes in my coaching class with a guy that is considered a coaching guru. He continually emphasized that kids at that age tend to quit because they don't have fun.

Make it fun and exciting. At the T-ball level, the biggest challenge is just helping them learn the rules of the game of baseball. Become their friend. Take time to talk to each one of your players 1 on 1, it will help them open up to you. Kids that age usually like to hit more than play in the field, so let them do more batting and running than anything.