OK...I need some help. In car accident last year

I have never done this before ever.....and I am nervous about doing it

A little background. Towards the end of last year I was at a standstill fixing to make a turn onto the street where I lived when I was struck from behind by a teen who was going way to fast and couldn't stop until too late.

It cost 9K damage to my Huandai....thats right NINE THOUSAND to my Accent that I paid 11K for. Triple AAA refused to just give me a check and forced me to accept them fixing my car. I have only been driving it a short time but I can tell I do not have the same vehicle (which was a 2005 and drove like new before the accident) now it is off alignment and I have little pings and noises coming from it that were not there before.

As for me....I was hauled off to the emergency room by ambulance strapped down to a board. While I suffered no broken bones I had severe whiplash and pain in both my upper and lower back. My own physician could not examine me correctly because she said my back was "too swollen"

I went through months of physical therapy and I am feeling better.....but I dont know if my back and neck will ever be the same.....my lower back is weak and I simply cannot lift like I could before (I am a avid gym goer and weight lifter) and I still get pain in my back and neck for absolutely no reason at all at different times that comes and goes.

I was in extreme pain for months....I could not regularly take the medication I was given because I still had to work to support my family and I have to commute a hour back and forth to work (too much danger of falling asleep at the wheel) on some days I just had to call in sick because I was in too much pain. I couldn't do ANYTHING during this time and to be honest it still limits me from where I was to this day. PT wasn't doing much more for me and I had to take time off of work for that so I stopped doing it.