Tipping

Just wanted to know what, if anything, people tipped for so-called "curbside" service? I don't think 15% is necessary and I was fine with just going in to pick it up and not tip at all, but now that they bring it to you, I feel obligated to tip. <_<

BTW, no need to move this thread. I'll delete it once it dies down.

• Replies 111
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I work as a server in a restaurant. We get a 2.13 an hour wage plus whatever tips we make. The curbside people make about 6 bucks an hour plus whatever tips they make. Combining the fact that they make more an hour than a server and that they don't do a whole lot of work, I would say a 5-10 percent tip is more than enough.

If it matters, there's a place called Carey Hilliards in Savannah, GA. I've eaten many a meal from them, great fried chicken and shrimps. I always tipped a dollar and whatever change was left, under two total. Average meal price was about $12-$13 bucks for two. I usually tip 20% at a sit in, unless things were really screwed up, but I never got complaints on roughly 10% at the drive up. If they brought me a Bud on the side on a Sunday, I usually tipped two more.

I'll walk in to get my food before I tip a curbside server. What's next, tipping the drive thru at McDonalds?

370207[/snapback]

Typical callous Yankee. Y'all just don't get how things work in the South.

I'll walk in to get my food before I tip a curbside server. What's next, tipping the drive thru at McDonalds?

370207[/snapback]

Yeah it's getting pretty ridiculous with tipping for everything. The worst though is some people don't think they should tip at all even if they sit down and eat at the restaurant. I don't know if they don't know or don't care that we get paid by tips, but for whatever reason they don't feel like it.