
Avisan
Community Member-
Posts
602 -
Joined
-
Last visited
Content Type
Gallery
Profiles
Forums
Events
Everything posted by Avisan
-
Young, inexperienced safety mis-timed the play, got there way too early, and went low to avoid the penalty (clock stops/free play). Probably figured his teammate would get there, but he took out his teammate in the process. Rewatch it again from both angles, side view shows how early he was. Makes more sense why he whiffed so hard, he was trying to get out of the way to avoid the early hit. If you
-
Cam Newton: "You Been Watching Film...Watch This"
Avisan replied to 26CornerBlitz's topic in The Stadium Wall Archives
I LOVED the player camera/player mics in this game. Seeing the human side of players and plays adds so much to it. Greg Olsen just being a BAMF veteran the whole time was so cool, and the Byrd catch/challenge process was hilarious. -
BINGO.
-
It shifted. The point hit the ground when it did. I don't have to PROVE anything. The rules are explicit and clear, whether you like them or not.
-
He was going to the ground and his extension did nothing to interrupt that process. This. Is. Basic. Stuff.
-
You're grasping at semantic straws, and confusing a hand being under the ball with full control. Full control means the ball isn't shifting in his hands.
-
He had possession. He lost it with the shift. The ground helped him regain. Whether he would have eventually regained without the help of the ground is irrelevant-- the ground helped when the point hit. If the ball never shifts, it's a clear catch. It shifted.
-
Having a hand under the ball doesn't mean he was controlling it. Rear point drags on the ground, which means the ground helped him control it. Basic stuff, ya'll.
-
If the ball shifts and touches the ground, he loses possession due to the shift and the ground helps him control the ball. It's that simple.
-
Used to post on BBMB, just haven't logged in to post much here. I travel a lot for work and haven't been able to be as active of a Bills fan as I've wanted to be the last couple of years.
-
Whether I like it or not is irrelevant. The rule is the rule, and it was correctly applied.
-
Not how it works. Do you remember the Calvin Johnson TD that got ruled an incomplete? Same principle. If you're going to the ground, you better make darn sure the point doesn't graze the ground if the ball shifts.
-
He has to MAINTAIN possession. It's part of catching the ball when going to ground. The ball can shift. The ball can't shift and touch the ground. The moment the point hit the ground, no catch.
-
They figured it out as soon as the refs stayed under the booth for more than 20 seconds. It was the right call. Ball rocks, point hits the ground, ground assisted the catch.
-
Stretching out to score in no way interrupted his going to the ground, though, which is why he needs to maintain possession.
-
It's a CONSISTENT rule. Otherwise simply getting possession in the endzone on a diving catch would be a TD. There's no magic exception for starting the catch at the 1 yard line.
-
He was going to ground, so he hadn't completed the catch. He dove for it, and didn't make a move under his own power that interrupted his going to the ground.
-
HE NEEDS TO MAINTAIN POSSESSION. He was going to the ground as part of making the catch, so he needs to hang onto the ball throughout the whole process. The moment the ball shifted, rocked, and the point touched the ground, the ground helped him control the ball. No catch.
-
When the ball shifts, it rocks, and the point touches the ground.
-
Not until he completes the catch. Because he dove for it, he needs to maintain possession all the way through the catch. It's the exact same rule as if he caught the pass in the endzone. There's no magical exception for getting possession of the ball outside the endzone and bringing it inside-- he needs to maintain possession through the catch.
-
You guys aren't thinking straight about this. He was going to the ground as part of the process of making the catch. He dives for it-- he HAS to maintain possession throughout. His hand is under the ball, but it moves and touches the ground slightly-- the ground has officially helped him control the ball, which invalidates the catch. It was the right call. Painful, but the right call.
-
A measured take on McDermott
Avisan replied to Pine Barrens Mafia's topic in The Stadium Wall Archives
1.) Nothing I said was factually incorrect. We had him for two years minimum for relatively cheap, with the ability to throw in an expensive third year if he produced. Only having for this year was entirely self-inflicted. 2.) Yeah, I was agreeing with you. 3.) Herald article. He's overpaid, but a defensive contributor right now. I don't think Gilmore is a world-beater, but he's a solid player. Acting like he's a total bum is ridiculous. 6.) Is Tolbert still our #2?