WIZARD FM....anyone else remember?

Buftex

The big "greatest song" thread got me thinking back, does anyone remember the amazing, but very short lived (maybe a little over a year) WIZARD FM in Buffalo? It was completely free-form, commercial radio. You might hear a Frank Zappa song, followed by Bing Crosby, and then George Jones. It was an awesome radio station (I think it was around 1981 or 1982). Deos anyone else remember?

Anyone know what happened to Gary Storm? He was the overnight guy, and program director of the station, if I remember correctly. His overnight show was called "Oil Of Dog", the theme for which, was a Kim Foley song called "I Hate You". I remember he moved elsewhere after they pulled the plug on the station, but I was wondering if anyone else knows where he is these days?

Yes! I was an intern at WZIR-FM/WHLD-AM in 1981, and later worked there part-time until the end of 1982. You're right, they were on the air as a free-form station from the spring of 1980 through the fall of 1981.

They were a wild, creative group to work with, constantly pushing the edge. It was a lot of fun. Although it had wonderful programming, they consistently finished at or near the bottom in the Arbitron ratings. Anyway, the investors were getting upset, so management brought in a consultant. He changed the format to classic-rock radio, and most of the staff either were fired or quit.

I remember Bob MacRae storming out of Paul Butler's office in a rage and we never saw him again. Same with Jeff Gordon. Bill Nichols was fired. Dean Matella was brought in from WPHD to replace him. Tony Florentino, Janet Merriam, and Jim Nowicki held on for a while but soon became disenchanted and left. Anne Leighton went into print journalism. Bob Kramerik stayed on for a long time. George Prentice became a TV producer and almost married my cousin.

In protest, during the final week of the old format, the DJs kept playing "Personality Crisis" by the NY Dolls over and over again.