Sign in to follow this  
JR in Pittsburgh

Antoine Winfield Jr (safety)— potential pick?

Let me preface this with I have no real knowledge of anything related to the draft beyond maybe the top handful of prospects. 

I just stumbled upon a mock draft that had Antoine Winfield, Jr. going to a team right around the Bills’ second round pick. First off, I had no idea that AW’s son is an NFL prospect. Second, I am now feeling old. Third, any chance we take him?

He seems like a great player and great kid, and it would be awesome to have AW jr. as a Bill!! 

One other thing— I thought the quote by AW Sr. In the below article was interesting. Talked about how he took his game to another level when he went to Minnesota. 

https://www.espn.com/nfl/draft2020/story/_/id/29011535/antoine-winfield-jr-unique-2020-nfl-draft-path-5-foot-9-first-round-bloodlines

I do believe they met with him and I do think they are looking for a third safety upgrade

Posted (edited)

His Dad was one of my favorite Bills ever.  

I don’t see safety as a pressing need unless they are looking to cut cost at the position next year, but Winfield could be in the conversation in the 2nd.

Edited by OldTimer1960
  • Like (+1) 1

if he tackles like his dad did we can certainly use him somewhere

• Like (+1) 1

Posted (edited)
14 minutes ago, aristocrat said:

if he tackles like his dad did we can certainly use him somewhere

He does.  He also played some CB at Minnesota if I remember correctly, so has extra versatility.

Edited by Mark80
  • Like (+1) 1

44 minutes ago, JR in Pittsburgh said:

Let me preface this with I have no real knowledge of anything related to the draft beyond maybe the top handful of prospects. 

I just stumbled upon a mock draft that had Antoine Winfield, Jr. going to a team right around the Bills’ second round pick. First off, I had no idea that AW’s son is an NFL prospect. Second, I am now feeling old. Third, any chance we take him?