Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
matter2003

Refs miss obvious illegal formation penalty on Foles TD catch

Recommended Posts

Jeffrey had to be on the LOS as they only had 6 players lined up on the ball instead of 7...play should have been flsgged for illegal formation...

 

Guess it was Pats turn to get screwed last night by the stripes Hahahahaha.

DVO-sSSUQAAUz4m.jpeg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, mikemac2001 said:

I think the wr confirmed with ref he was on the line. Usually they point to ref get confirmation because it's hard to judge actual line 

Does 3 yards off the ball appear to be on the line? He is almost in the exact same place as the wing back.

 

If that is considered on the line its the most liberal definition I've ever seen the refs take...he clearly is not on the line.

Edited by matter2003
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, matter2003 said:

Jeffrey had to be on the LOS as they only had 6 players lined up on the ball instead of 7...play should have been flsgged for illegal formation...

 

Guess it was Pats turn to get screwed last night by the stripes Hahahahaha.

DVO-sSSUQAAUz4m.jpeg

 

Yeah, two yards back is not "close enough."

 

But I'm okay with it this time.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They missed a lot of things. Happens every game. That bobble on the TD catch was.....no catch a few weeks ago. Goes both ways...... glad we aren’t complaining the Cheaters got all the breaks. 

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, matter2003 said:

Does 3 yards off the ball appear to be on the line? He is almost in the exact same place as the wing back

 

If the ref confirms he is on the line then yes. That's why they check with the refs. It's not broken down by centimeters that's why they have to the system and if the ref says no they move forward you see this almost every play 

  • Like 5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I do not in anyway feel bad for the Patriots or that this may have been a missed call. The Patriots have had SO MANY CALLS go their way over the years, I couldn't care less. 

  • Like 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, mikemac2001 said:

 

If the ref confirms he is on the line then yes. That's why they check with the refs. It's not broken down by centimeters that's why they have to the system and if the ref says no they move forward you see this almost every play 

I'm well aware of how it works. That doesnt mean it was right. What is he looking at?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The *pats invented that formation and paved the way for questionable formations.  Just ask John Harbaugh.  

 

Taste of their own medicine, they can eat it.  And did.  

Edited by thunderingsquid
  • Haha 1
  • Thanks 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 minutes ago, mikemac2001 said:

I think the wr confirmed with ref he was on the line. Usually they point to ref get confirmation because it's hard to judge actual line 

This. Haven’t seen a replay looking for it, but I’d bet money that Jeffrey cleared it with the line judge before the snap.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Seriously, how awesome was it that they ran the same play to Foles that the Pats tried to do earlier in the game

 

FU PATS!

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, Steptide said:

I do not in anyway feel bad for the Patriots or that this may have been a missed call. The Patriots have had SO MANY CALLS go their way over the years, I couldn't care less. 

 

I care.

 

We should all care about the incompetent NFL officials.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 minutes ago, K-9 said:

This. Haven’t seen a replay looking for it, but I’d bet money that Jeffrey cleared it with the line judge before the snap.

 

Per MMQB:

 

"...One more note about this: After the play, Twitter was filled with people saying the Eagles were short one man on the line of scrimmage at the snap of the ball. The NFL requires seven offensive players to be on the line of scrimmage before the ball is snapped. And it does appear that six Eagles were within a yard of the line, which is permissible, and the seventh, wide receiver Alshon Jeffery, to the top of the formation, was two yards off the line. In theory, the officials could have called an illegal formation with only six men on the line.

 

Except Jeffery claimed he got the okay from the official on the right sideline. The way formation rules work, players can look over at a side judge or other official nearby to see if he’s in the permissible spot.

 

“I’m on the ball,” Jeffery said. “I pointed. What are you talking about? Man, you know I checked with the ref!”

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 minutes ago, matter2003 said:

Does 3 yards off the ball appear to be on the line? He is almost in the exact same place as the wing back.

 

If that is considered on the line its the most liberal definition I've ever seen the refs take...he clearly is not on the line.

He does not need to be on the line. All players line up a yard back on hip of center.

 

He needs to cover the offensive lineman on the end of the line. All OL line up about a yard back from the ball with head centered on the hip of the center. That is considered legal.

 

The WR in this case asked the ref two times if he was on the line and got the thumbs up ea time, so he was legal. If he then moved up a half or 1 yard he risked an off sides flag as ref just told him 2x from his vantage point he was on LOS. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Looks parallel to the line of scrimmage to me!

 

Also, the Music City Miracle was a backwards pass.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, Lurker said:

 

Per MMQB:

 

"...One more note about this: After the play, Twitter was filled with people saying the Eagles were short one man on the line of scrimmage at the snap of the ball. The NFL requires seven offensive players to be on the line of scrimmage before the ball is snapped. And it does appear that six Eagles were within a yard of the line, which is permissible, and the seventh, wide receiver Alshon Jeffery, to the top of the formation, was two yards off the line. In theory, the officials could have called an illegal formation with only six men on the line.

 

Except Jeffery claimed he got the okay from the official on the right sideline. The way formation rules work, players can look over at a side judge or other official nearby to see if he’s in the permissible spot.

 

“I’m on the ball,” Jeffery said. “I pointed. What are you talking about? Man, you know I checked with the ref!”

 

There ya go.

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
29 minutes ago, Augie said:

They missed a lot of things. Happens every game. That bobble on the TD catch was.....no catch a few weeks ago. Goes both ways...... glad we aren’t complaining the Cheaters got all the breaks. 

 

I thought without a doubt that they were going to over turn that TD.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If the bobbled catch and the illegal formation make it a harder on the Pats and their fans I'm all for it. Make this thing as painful as possible. Keep reviewing those tapes I'm sure they missed

a holding or two!

Edited by Commonsense
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
32 minutes ago, K-9 said:

This. Haven’t seen a replay looking for it, but I’d bet money that Jeffrey cleared it with the line judge before the snap.

 

Jeffrey has tweeted that I believe

14 minutes ago, Royale with Cheese said:

I thought without a doubt that they were going to over turn that TD.  

 

The one I thought for sure they would overturn was the RB, Clement.  I thought for sure they would rule that he didn't have clear possession on the 1st two steps and then stepped out before he regained it.  To my eyes he caught the ball, took 2 steps, then repositioned it so it would "survive the ground" but I was expecting the refs to see it differently.

 

 

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 minutes ago, Hapless Bills Fan said:

 

Jeffrey has tweeted that I believe

 

The one I thought for sure they would overturn was the RB, Clement.  I thought for sure they would rule that he didn't have clear possession on the 1st two steps and then stepped out before he regained it.  To my eyes he caught the ball, took 2 steps, then repositioned it so it would "survive the ground" but I was expecting the refs to see it differently.

 

 

That’s the one I was talking about.

It looked like that toe was on the white when he regained control.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
58 minutes ago, mikemac2001 said:

I think the wr confirmed with ref he was on the line. Usually they point to ref get confirmation because it's hard to judge actual line 

 

Correct

 

Had he been too far back in the ref's opinion, he'd simply have moved up

 

A penalty was never in play

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×